## Baldwin Elected Vice President

NNOUNCEMENT of the results of the 1960-61 election of officers by mail balloting was made at the opening session of the 51st annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society at the Baker hotel, Dallas, on April 4, 1960, by J. C. Konen, chairman of the Nominating and

Election Committee.



R. W. Bates

There were 1,190 valid ballots for the tally on March 10 in the Chicago office by Mr. Konen, A. V. Graci Jr., and Dale V. Stingley. Deadline for voting was March 7.

Declared president, without opposition, was R. W. Bates (1942), research associate at Armour and Company, Chicago, Ill. He has been vice president and membership chairman during the past year and was chairman of the Referee Board from 1950 to 1954. He has served as chairman of the Smalley Committee since 1946.

Chosen vice president over R. C. Stillman, who has been secretary during the past year,

was A. R. Baldwin (1944), director of research for Cargill Inc., Minneapolis, Minn. He has been chairman of the Journal Committee and editor of the Journal of the American Oil Chemists' Society since 1949 and was editor of the 35-Year Cumulative Index of the Journal in 1952-53.

K. F. Mattil (1944), elected to the Governing Board in 1959 as member-at-large, was given the office of secretary without opposition. He is associate director of research, Swift and Company, Chicago. He has been a member of the Education Committee since 1947 and chairman 1955-59.

Re-elected without opposition was A. F. Kapecki (1937), secretary of Wurster and Sanger Inc., Chicago, and secretary-treasurer, Wurster and Sanger International Inc. He has been treasurer since 1953 and has served on the Chicago convention committee several times and been chairman in 1953 and 1956. He is chairman of the new Convention Policy

There were six candidates for members-at-large on the Governing Board, three of whom were elected. The six were D. S. Bolley, G. C. Cavanagh, J. C. Harris, W. O. Lundberg, A. E. MacGee, and Raymond Reiser. Messrs. Harris, Lundberg, and MacGee were the winners.

Mr. Harris (1944), who was first elected to the Board in 1959, is assistant director of research, Monsanto Chemical Company, Dayton, O.



W. O. Lundberg



A. E. MacGee



A. R. Baldwin



K. F. Mattil



A. F. Kapecki



J. C. Harris

Dr. Lundberg (1944), new to the Board, is executive director of the Hormel Institute, Austin, Minn., and professor of agricultural biochemistry, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. He is the author of approximately 100 scientific articles.

Dr. MacGee (1931) is manager, Industrial Division, Skelly Oil Company, Kansas City, Mo. He is well known in Society circles for his many years as advertising chairman of the Journal. He organized the Technical Safety Committee in 1956 and served as chairman until 1959. He was elected member-at-large in 1958 and was a candidate for vice president in 1959.

Serving with the new officers will be the four most recent past presidents: N. D. Embree, 1959; J. C. Konen, 1958; H. C. Black, 1957; and T. H. Hopper, 1956.

At a meeting March 15 at the Park Sheraton in New York, Anthony M. Schwartz (1950) was recipient of an award made annually by the American Society for Testing Materials Committee D-12 on Soaps and Other Detergents. He was cited for his accomplishments in detergents and his contributions to the committee's work in standardizing test methods and specifications for detergents. He has been a member of the committee since 1952 and is now also chairman of the group on Nomenclature and Definitions.

Lt. Gen. James M. Gavin (U.S.A. Ret.) has been elected president of Arthur D. Little Inc., Cambridge, Mass.